Holy Days of Obligation

Holy Days of Obligation in the Catholic Church


Main Menu


Electronic Church Bulletin


On the First Friday of Every Month

St. Anthony's Church Hosts

The Two Hearts Prayer Vigil

Masses at 7PM & 10PM


Glenmary Council 7853


Catholic Diocese of Richmond








Holy Days of Obligation

Holy Days of Obligation in the Catholic Church Around the World 2013-2015

2013     2014     2015

Holy Days of Obligation Defined

Holy days of obligation are feast days on which Catholics are required to attend Mass and to avoid (to the extent that they are able) servile work. The observance of Holy Days of Obligation is part of the Sunday Duty, the first of the Precepts of the Church. There are currently ten Holy Days of Obligation in the Latin Rite of the Catholic Church; in the United States, only six Holy Days of Obligation are observed.

United States Holy Days of Obligation Defined

In the United States, the Catholic Church currently celebrates the six Holy Days of Obligation listed below. (Any feast celebrated on a Sunday, such as Easter, falls under our normal Sunday Duty and thus isn't included in a list of Holy Days of Obligation.)

While the 1983 Code of Canon Law for the Latin Rite of the Catholic Church mandates ten Holy Days of Obligation, the bishops' conference of each country can reduce that number. In the United States, two of the other four Holy Days of Obligation—Epiphany and Corpus Christi—have been moved to Sunday, while the obligation to attend Mass on the other two days, the Solemnity of Saint Joseph, Husband of the Blessed Virgin Mary, and the Solemnity of Saints Peter and Paul, Apostles, has simply been removed.

1. Solemnity of Mary, the Mother of God

The Latin Rite of the Catholic Church begins the year by celebrating the Solemnity of Mary, the Mother of God. On this day, we are reminded of the role that the Blessed Virgin played in the plan of our salvation. Christ's Birth at Christmas, celebrated just a week before, and was made possible by Mary's fiat: "Be it done unto me according to Thy word."

2. The Ascension of Our Lord

The Ascension of Our Lord, which occurred 40 days after Jesus Christ rose from the dead on Easter Sunday, is the final act of our redemption that Christ began on Good Friday. On this day, the risen Christ, in the sight of His apostles, ascended bodily into Heaven.

3. The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary

The Solemnity of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary is a very old feast of the Church, celebrated universally by the sixth century. It commemorates the death of Mary and her bodily assumption into Heaven, before her body could begin to decay—a foretaste of our own bodily resurrection at the end of time.

4. All Saints Day

All Saints Day is a surprisingly old feast. It arose out of the Christian tradition of celebrating the martyrdom of saints on the anniversary of their martyrdom. When martyrdoms increased during the persecutions of the late Roman Empire, local dioceses instituted a common feast day in order to ensure that all martyrs, known and unknown were properly honored. The practice eventually spread to the universal Church.

5. The Solemnity of the Immaculate Conception

The Solemnity of the Immaculate Conception, in its oldest form, goes back to the seventh century, when churches in the East began celebrating the Feast of the Conception of Saint Anne, the mother of Mary. In other words, this feast celebrates, not the conception of Christ (a common misconception), but the conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary in the womb of Saint Anne; and nine months later, on September 8, we celebrate the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

6. Christmas

The word Christmas derives from the combination of Christ and Mass; it is the feast of the Nativity of Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. The last holy day of obligation in the year, Christmas is second in importance in the liturgical calendar only to Easter.

Holy Days of Obligation Around the World


Holy Day of Obligation 2013

•Mary, Mother of God (Tuesday, January 1, 2013)

•Ash Wednesday (Wednesday, February 13, 2013)

•Palm Sunday (Sunday, March 24, 2013)

•Holy Thursday (Thursday, March 28, 2013)

•Good Friday (Friday, March 29, 2013)

•Holy Saturday (Saturday, March 30, 2013)

•Easter Sunday (Sunday, March 31, 2013)

•Divine Mercy Sunday (Sunday, April 7, 2013)

•Ascension (Thursday, May 9, 2013) (transferred to Sunday, May 12, 2013)

•Pentecost Sunday (Sunday, May 19, 2013)

•Trinity Sunday (Sunday, May 26, 2013)

•Corpus Christi (Thursday, May 30, 2013; transferred to Sunday, June 2, 2013)

•Assumption of Mary (Thursday, August 15, 2013)

•All Saints Day (Friday, November 1, 2013)

•First Sunday of Advent (Sunday, December 1, 2013)

•Immaculate Conception (Sunday, December 8, 2013)

•Christmas (Wednesday, December 25, 2013)


Holy Day of Obligation 2014

•Mary, Mother of God (Wednesday, January 1, 2014)

•Ash Wednesday (Wednesday, March 5, 2014)

•Palm Sunday (Sunday, April 13, 2014)

•Holy Thursday (Thursday, April 17, 2014)

•Good Friday (Friday, April 18, 2014)

•Holy Saturday (Saturday, April 19, 2014)

•Easter Sunday (Sunday, April 20, 2014)

•Divine Mercy Sunday (Sunday, April 27, 2014)

•Ascension (Thursday, May 29, 2014) (transferred to Sunday, June 1, 2014)

•Pentecost Sunday (Sunday, June 8, 2014)

•Trinity Sunday (Sunday, June 15, 2014)

•Corpus Christi (Thursday, June 19, 2014; transferred to Sunday, June 22, 2014)

•Sacred Heart of Jesus (Friday, June 27, 2014)

•Assumption of Mary (Friday, August 15, 2014)

•All Saints Day (Saturday, November 1, 2014) (abrogated because it falls on a Saturday)

•First Sunday of Advent (Sunday, November 30, 2014)

•Immaculate Conception (Monday, December 8, 2014)

•Christmas (Thursday, December 25, 2014)


Holy Day of Obligation 2015

•Mary, Mother of God (Thursday, January 1, 2015)

•Ash Wednesday (Wednesday, February 18, 2015)

•Palm Sunday (Sunday, March 29, 2015)

•Holy Thursday (Thursday, April 2, 2015)

•Good Friday (Friday, April 3, 2015)

•Holy Saturday (Saturday, April 4, 2015)

•Easter Sunday (Sunday, April 5, 2015)

•Divine Mercy Sunday (Sunday, April 12, 2015)

•Ascension (Thursday, May 14, 2015) (transferred to Sunday, May 17, 2015)

•Pentecost Sunday (Sunday, May 24, 2015)

•Trinity Sunday (Sunday, May 31, 2015)

•Corpus Christi (Thursday, June 4, 2015; transferred to Sunday, June 7, 2015)

•Sacred Heart of Jesus (Friday, June 12, 2015)

•Assumption of Mary (Saturday, August 15, 2015) (abrogated because it falls on a Saturday)

•All Saints Day (Sunday, November 1, 2015)

•First Sunday of Advent (Sunday, November 29, 2015)

•Immaculate Conception (Tuesday, December 8, 2015)

•Christmas (Friday, December 25, 2015)